The New York State Department of Health’s Syndromic Surveillance System


The New York State Department of Health (NYSDOH) Syndromic Surveillance System consists of five components: 1. Emergency Department (ED) Phone Call System monitors unusual events or clusters of illnesses in the EDs of participating hospitals; 2. Electronic ED Surveillance System monitors ED chief complaint data; 3. Medicaid data system monitors Medicaid-paid over-the-counter and prescription medica-tions; 4. National Retail Data Monitor/Real-time Outbreak and Disease Surveillance System monitors OTC data; 5. CDC’s BioSense application monitors Department of Defense and Veterans Administration outpatient care clinical data (ICD-9-CM diag-noses and CPT procedure codes), and LabCorp test order data.



This poster presentation provides an overview of the NYSDOH Syndromic Surveillance System, including data sources, analytic algorithms, and resulting reports that are posted on the NYSDOH Secure Health Commerce System for access by state, regional, county, and hospital users.

Primary Topic Areas: 
Original Publication Year: 
Event/Publication Date: 
September, 2005

July 30, 2018

Contact Us


288 Grove Street, Box 203
Braintree, MA 02184
(617) 779 0880

This Knowledge Repository is made possible through the activities of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Cooperative Agreement/Grant #1 NU500E000098-01, National Surveillance Program Community of Practice (NSSP-CoP): Strengthening Health Surveillance Capabilities Nationwide, which is in the interest of public health.

Site created by Fusani Applications